Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Day #192

Meaning

We have been considering the language we use around systems this week.

Use your sixty seconds today to consider how language conveys ‘meaning’.

Does it carry it, as though in a backpack, intact from me to you? Or does it create a space where the recipient can translate in their own understanding?

Let me give you an example: if i say ‘i feel excited’, i am conveying an internal state. My language lets you know how i feel about that internal state, but does not, in itself, give you any insight into my thoughts.

Similarly, if i say, during a challenging time, ‘i feel fine’, is there any way for you to calibrate this? The word ‘fine’ does not give you a clear view into my soul - rather it describes a state that i want you to hear. I may well not be fine, but you would never know.

0 Comments
Social Leadership - Daily
Social Leadership - Daily
Authors
Julian Stodd