Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Day #484 - Strangers

How things change

Well, I'm up in Birmingham and I walked through the city last night. I used to know it well, and I kind of still do.

So I didn't get lost, but things had changed.

Buildings had emerged or disappeared. Sometimes whole areas looked completely different. The city that I used to know is gone and a new one is here, it's recognisable, but strange to me too.

I went back to my favourite cinema but it was really run down, it was decrepit, it smelt of mould so I left again.

It didn't feel like I belonged in that space, in this place anymore.

But I also saw students running around who clearly had a very contemporary sense of the city.

It was theirs in this moment.

It made me think about that idea of how things change over time.

Use your sixty seconds today to look around you at your organisation.

How do you know it if you've been there for a while?

And how would somebody know it if they turned up today?

What would be new to them?

What is feeling old to you?

It's this sense of how things change.

I hope you're having a good week, I'll see you tomorrow.

0 Comments
Social Leadership - Daily
Social Leadership - Daily
Social Leadership Daily provides 60 seconds of questions, ideas, experiments and challenges to support your development as a Social Leader.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Julian Stodd