Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Day #618 - The Context of Yoga

Being intentionally selfish

I was talking to Nick yesterday and ended up in a discussion about when was best to do yoga. I shared that I try to practice in the morning, whilst he preferred the evening - both of us struggled to prioritise and fit it into the day. And I felt like an idiot talking about it.

Starting my day with purpose, and with time for myself, sounds more like something that is written about in self help books than actually done in practice.

Almost every morning I feel a combination of guilt and secrecy when I take this time - sometimes only ten minutes - for myself. Which is completely ridiculous. But that is how I have been conditioned to think.

Years of writing and illustrating, invariably hunched over the iPad, on a train seat, or in a plane, mean I really value the physical benefits. But it’s also about how I want to travel through my week. With some sense of agency and balance.

I have no need to feel guilt: I know that I am an extremely productive writer, and run a successful business. But it never feels like enough.

Use your sixty seconds today to consider this: how do you feel when you invest time in your ‘self’.

I am reminded that to be ‘self-ish’ is not always a bad thing: if we do not invest in our ‘self’ then our ‘self’ may lack the energy or balance to invest in others.

Discussion about this podcast

Social Leadership - Daily
Social Leadership - Daily
Social Leadership Daily provides 60 seconds of questions, ideas, experiments and challenges to support your development as a Social Leader.