Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Day #622 - Timeboxing

Time and Tasks

Last week I used an approach to time management called Timeboxing, courtesy of my friend Marc Zao-Sanders, who has conveniently written a book on this topic. It was a mixed success.

I dutifully put in 15 minutes each day to write Social Leadership Daily, as well as other blocks of time for writing I’m focussed on. Two days I forgot to put in time for lunch. And at the end of the week, I felt things had gone pretty well.

I still had a stack of emails - and spent time thinking how trapped I sometimes feel by emails - as well as an open ended ToDo list. But I felt marginally more in control of things. Whether I will keep it up beyond this week, I cannot say.

Use your sixty seconds today to consider how you keep your arms around things: do you rely on rigorous time management approaches, a structured diary, intuition, or good luck? Or something else?

How did you learn this?

I always consider myself to be good in a crisis - I can focus and grind through stuff - but the everyday can leave a trail of unfinished odds and ends that accumulate and act as an anchor.

I hope you had a great weekend!

Discussion about this podcast

Social Leadership - Daily
Social Leadership - Daily
Social Leadership Daily provides 60 seconds of questions, ideas, experiments and challenges to support your development as a Social Leader.